Road to Bronze 2017

WEEKLY JOURNAL ENTRIES:

Lots of work, travel, and bad weather:

I managed 2 days of training this past week.  My lessons with Susan are so amazing.  The canter is much improved, based on suppleness and balance which produced “throughness.”

4/6/17: lesson with Susan Sneider.  In my lessons, we haven’t been doing any figures or movements- we just work on beautiful circles: walk, trot, canter.  You would think this would be boring, but it is infinitely interesting, because she is helping me to unblock my horse and shape him.  The fine tuning is forcing me to be a much more sensitive rider, also much quicker, with lighter aids.  Even if we spend a whole year on the circles, I know that this will lead to setting him up for success in any movement.  Today the canter was just amazing, and it all came out of her system of suppling, aiding when he starts to lose balance/suppleness, and making those aids as small as possible, (but as much as needed.)  I am working the next 2 days at galleries out of town, so I can’t practice until  Sunday.  Judging from my experiences with Susan, I know I’m getting there….  Our horses don’t need training- we do!  My goal for Sunday: use what I am learning  from Susan “to increase the length of our perfect moments, which are coming together more consistently”………………quote from Chris Crowhurt

4/5/17:  practice for tomorrow’s lesson.  Rider- improve seat- sit on pockets; improve feel- look for the release  Horse- improve sensitivity/prompt response to aids

Leave a Reply

