Winds of Change

original watercolor (copyright Cheri Isgreen)

original watercolor                        (copyright Cheri Isgreen)

I have just returned from two weeks of beach walking and drawing in Mexico.  I’m planning a “side trip” in this blog to record my journey.  Until then, I wanted to share this motivational quote I received from a friend, “When life brings big winds of change that almost blow you over, close your eyes, hang on tight, and BELIEVE.”

It was so cold and wintery when I left.  This morning when I went out to feed, I felt a cool breeze on my face, but the sun was shining with promise of a warmer day.  The snow has mostly melted, and the ground is drying out.  Strong spring winds follow on the heels of winter, so this post presages the season.

6 comments on “Winds of Change

  1. Cheri, I’ve been enjoying reading through your posts, and love the way you weave art, poetry and healing into the mix. Just have to say your watercolour is gorgeous (and I appreciate how difficult that medium is to master). If you exhibit, I’d love to see more!

    (Sorry for error before – please delete!!!)

    • Thank you, thank you. I’ve been thinking about changing my About statement, because the focus of this blog has grown beyond telling Violet’s story, or using exercises to heal a back problem, etc.

      I’ve started on a new painting; early morning gathering on a cold day; mounted riders are getting their instructions for the day. It’s all about shapes- specifically legs again a neutral background of a frozen spring day.

      My goal is to get my trip to Mexico posted- drawings and musings; now that really is a side trip from equine pursuits. Art is probably as important to me as horses, so I must honor that too.

    • Error due to husband leaving caps. lock on! Was deleting but must have pressed the wrong key somehow – apologies again! I look forward to seeing your new painting and the drawings and musings from your Mexico trip – somewhere I’ve never had the chance to visit but love their vivid use of colour in architecture and fabric from photos I’ve seen….

    • Yes, it was idyllic. I’m trying to figure out the new scanner to get those drawings digitized…..

  2. darkpathways says:

    Hi there, I love that water colour, it has such depth. Sounds like you have traveled in the warmth of the sun. Here up on Dartmoor in South West England there are many wild horse that live on the open moor, they seem to survive the snow and rain we are having. Healing and light to you.

    • Thank you for kind comments about my painting. Stay tuned because I have recently finished one that is somewhat of a new direction for me. The front horse has a deep glow; it is luminous with quite a bit of modeling.
      Yes, I was lucky enough to go to Mexico for 2 weeks in Feb; it was heaven. I brought a small sketchbook and draw each day with pencil & ink. I painted the horses when I got home, and I think the style of the detailed pencil work influence the painting.
      Wow! Dartmoor ponies- how lucky you are to live with them. I would love to see and draw them. Walk with beauty today.

Leave a Reply

