And miles to go before I sleep

My little horse must think it queer to stop without a farmhouse near...He gives his harness bells a shake to ask if there's some mistake

My little horse must think it queer to stop without a farmhouse near…He gives his harness bells a shake to ask if there is some mistake

 

 

I heard today is the 50th anniversary of the poet, Robert Frost’s death.  It reminded me of my favorite poem, which I like to read every year on the winter solstice.

Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening

Whose woods these are I think I know.
His house is in the village, though;
He will not see me stopping here
To watch his woods fill up with snow.

My little horse must think it queer
To stop without a farmhouse near
Between the woods and frozen lake
The darkest evening of the year.

He gives his harness bells a shake
To ask if there is some mistake.
The only other sound’s the sweep
Of easy wind and downy flake.

The woods are lovely, dark, and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.

Robert Frost
5 comments on “And miles to go before I sleep

    • Yesterday, I went out to feed, and it was pouring rain- yeah, like in the summer. Within 15 minutes, the rain changed to hail, and within 30 minutes, the sky was filled with giant snowflakes. I was soaked after feeding, so I changed clothes and went for an hour walk in the snow. It was so nice to have all that slushy mud covered up again. Sooooo, I just know how Robert Frost was feeling when he wrote that poem.

  1. Mary Pat Hotze says:

    This is my favorite poem too, Cheri. MP

  2. Reblogged this on Equitherapy and commented:

    Here it is once again, the Winter Solstice, “…..darkest evening of the year.” The snow has been falling for the past two days, and we have been preparing for the past two weeks to celebrate the rebirth of light and life. The juniper, holly, & ivy has been cut & wired. The garland is hung and lighted. Food prepared, house & yard cleaned & decorated, invitations sent, readings and songs ready. Wishing you a beautiful holiday season….and miles to go before we sleep….

  3. Barb Haynie says:

    I love this poem too. It may be my favorite by Frost and Frost may be my favorite poet. I love his earthiness.

Leave a Reply

